Breaking News!

Downingtown Library expanding library services, Monday 8/3!

UPDATE! Starting Monday Aug. 3, patrons will be able to enter the Library building for pick up of holds, and limited browsing and computer/copier usage. We ask that you keep your visit as brief as possible: maximum of 15 minutes for browsing/copier usage, and 30 minutes for computer usage. If the maximum number of patrons are already inside the library, you may be asked to wait outside until someone leaves before you can enter. Similarly, you may be asked to leave if patrons are waiting to enter and your maximum time has passed. These services will be available Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, 10AM-12PM, and Tuesday 1PM-3PM. “Library To Go” contactless holds pickup will continue- you can make your appointment by visiting: https://bit.ly/manageholds. (More info about how this service works: http://downingtownlibrary.org/using-the-library/contactless-holds-pickup/) All item returns will continue to be accepted only in the outdoor book drop.

**Very important: properly wearing masks over both your nose and mouth for the duration of your visit to the library are required for all patrons. The Library will have disposable masks on hand if you do not have one. Additionally, please do not visit the library if you are sick!**

Please note for the following services:

Computer services: Limited computers are available, for a maximum of 30 minutes, 1 session per patron, per day. Due to the limited number of computers available, no extensions of time will be allowed. The copier and scanner are also available. Due to both social distancing requirements and staffing levels, staff cannot offer technology assistance at this time. Please bring along someone to help you if you need it.

All services: please visit the library alone, or with as few family members/friends as possible. No food is allowed inside. The majority of the library building remains closed, including: restrooms, children’s area, stacks, Krapf Program Room, and Hessinger Study Room. A selection of both adult and children’s materials have been moved to the “main” area for browsing and check out. You can access other items in the collection in the “closed” area by placing a hold using your online account (https://catalog.ccls.org/patroninfo) or asking a staff member to retrieve a specific title for you. We apologize that we aren’t able to offer in-depth reader’s advisory to help you find materials if you’re not sure what you want at this time, due to limited staffing and hours. To find a new book to read, please check out the following resources:

NoveList: use your CCLS library card to find reading recommendations including reviews, lists, articles, and more. Use NoveList to find read-alikes in both fiction and non-fiction for readers of all ages. NoveList also has series information, award winners, best-of lists, top ten lists, and much more! (https://www.ccls.org/196/Databases-by-Name#N)

BookBrowse: Here you can find handpicked read-alike recommendations for more than 4000 contemporary books and 3000 authors. (https://www.bookbrowse.com/read-alikes/)

Goodreads Readalikes: book lists: https://www.goodreads.com/list/tag/read-alikes

Or search “author” + readalike or “book title” + readalike to find ideas for new titles to read.

Thank you all for your patience as we move through reopening stages as safely as possible with the staffing and resources we have available, in this ever-evolving landscape!

Please check this website and the library Facebook page regularly for updates about the Downingtown Library reopening stages. Please feel free to reach out to us through Facebook message or email at ehess@ccls.org with any questions or comments. Thank you!

 Please know that we are doing everything we can to help ensure the safety and well-being of our staff and patrons.

More info:
All programs for the foreseeable future will remain virtual- click the links above to learn more about programs for all ages.

Please feel free to contact us through Facebook message or by email at ehess@ccls.org if you have any questions or concerns. Please know that library staff and Board members have been working very hard on plans to restore services while maintaining staff and patron safety! We are learning as we go, like so many others during these challenging times, and deeply appreciate your patience as we prepare to welcome you back to the Downingtown Library!

Continue to Learn at home by exploring our librarian-curated, regularly-updated list of free educational and entertaining resources, and check out online CCLS resources like OverDrive (ebooks), Flipster (digital magazines) and databases will still be accessible with your library card- please check them out at the bottom of this homepage and at https://www.ccls.org/305/eMaterials 

For up-to-date information on COVID-19, please check the following public health agencies, sources of reliable, up-to-date information:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: https://www.cdc.gov/

Pennsylvania Department of Health: https://www.health.pa.gov/

Chester County Health Department: https://www.chesco.org/224/Health

World Health Organization: https://www.who.int/

December 13, 2019: The Downingtown Library Board of Directors announced today that an anonymous donor has issued a $25,000 challenge grant, giving $5,000 a year for a period of 5 years if the Library can secure $10,000 a year in pledges from the community for the next 5 years- the amount needed to fund a full-time Children’s Librarian. The Board of Directors appeals to all Library supporters to sign a pledge as soon as possible, so that the Library can achieve this goal as quickly as possible. Pledges can be any amount- even as low as $100 per year will make a difference! Please visit “Ways to Give” for information about making your pledge.

 


UPCOMING EVENTS

View all events

 

 

 

 

HOURS & DIRECTIONS

Library Hours

Monday:  10:00am – 12:00pm (curbside pickup and walk-in unscheduled holds pickup); 1pm-3pm (curbside pickup)

Tuesday: 10:00am – 12:00pm (curbside pickup); 1pm-3pm (curbside pickup and walk-in unscheduled holds pickup)

Wednesday: 10:00am – 12:00pm (curbside pickup and walk-in unscheduled holds pickup); 1pm-3pm (curbside pickup)

Thursday: 10:00am – 12:00pm (curbside pickup and walk-in unscheduled holds pickup); 1pm-3pm (curbside pickup)

Friday: 10:00am – 12:00pm (curbside pickup and walk-in unscheduled holds pickup); 1pm-3pm (curbside pickup)

Saturday: 10:00am – 12:00pm (curbside pickup)

Sunday:  Closed

The Library follows the Downingtown Area School District schedule for closures and delayed openings due to inclement weather.

The Library will be closed on the following holidays: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Eve before Thanksgiving (close at 5pm), Thanksgiving Day, Day after Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, & New Year’s Eve.

Downingtown Library 122 Wallace Ave. Downingtown, PA 19335

(610) 269-5260

READING OLYMPICS 2020

ACCESS READING OLYMPICS LISTS HERE

Free Electronic Resources

POWER LIBRARY

Use the links below to access Pennsylvania’s electronic library

FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY

The mission of the Friends of the Downingtown Library is to promote and support the programs and operations of the library through a variety of fundraisers, most notably the semi-annual book sales, as well as through community outreach. In 2019, the Friends contributed nearly $18,000 to the Downingtown Library.

Downingtown Library is closed Tues. 8/4 due to the weather. For those with holds to pickup today, please come by anytime during the rest of the week to get them- Wed-Fri. 10-12; 1-4 and Sat. 10-12 or email ehess@ccls.org to make arrangements. We apologize for the inconvenience!